Why the Double Standards, Son?

Why the double
Standards, son?

While your a lone wolf
Am I nothing but a terrorist
Your condemnations are
Heard loud and clear but
When I open my mouth
To say

“This is not me!”

I am shut up and cast aside
To propagate an agenda
Meant to kill innocent people
And innocent lands
All in the name of freedom
When to your own you cannot
Give so much as a handful
Of human rights

So why the
Propaganda, son?

When you have hate speech
Its the first amendment
When I have peace speech I
Dont deserve to speak
My words fall onto deaf ears
Nobody hears and nobody
Sees that I am condemning
This shit and these fallacies
Calling out the bigots
It’s a crime upholding my
Dignity is not fine and
When you have guns its
In defense when I have guns
Jihad it is

So why the double
Standards, son?

When you wear what you
Wish its all expression
When I wear a scarf its
My oppression
When you criticize your nation
Its your own opinion and
When I criticize it too
The patriot police come
Through to label me

Utterly “un-American”

And I am labeled by your
Privilege which pushes
Me into third classssss

Citizenship my ass

Am I not a citizen being
A “sand nigger” do I not
Deserve to live but be sent
Right back to where
I haven’t lived am I not
American Enough for you?

So why the double
Standards, son?

Where you’re a lone wolf
My religion’s to blame
When you say God told you
You aren’t the one insane?
When your defense of
Freedom is at the price of
Our blood and our struggles
The color of skin and
Our religion

Why the unjust
Bloodshed, son?

Is your blood worth more than
Mine is it worth it when its
Shed all the fucking time?
How about all the casualties
Of the hate crimes and the
Fucking hate speech and

Everything in between.

So why the irrational
Hatred, son?

I am just like you
Are you afraid that
The people you’ve slain
Probably had a name
A family or a lover
A sister or a brother
A father or a mother
A son a daughter
A classmate or a friend
A home or a business
Hopes or dreams
Aspirations and wants
And needs

That perhaps this war
You’re winning is all
Inside your head?

So why the fear
And insecurity, son?

Why the propaganda
And the hurt and
Why the ugly bigotry
Ignorance and hate?

12 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Blue Suede Shoes.

    Like

    1. I got into the journalism camp I applied to!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s awesome news! Congratulations! When does it start?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It starts in June, but I’m excited to go already 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. haha…I believe it. And again, congratulations!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Get outa here with your commie-hippie-moslem talk I can’t handle the cognitive dissonance

    Like

    1. If you have an issue feel free to stop reading it? I mean you have every right to an opinion and I have a right to spew anything I want too. This is my blog please and thank you.

      Like

      1. Dude I’m kidding, half of my personality is satire of the Good White Christian Establishment. What true asshole would ever say “I can’t handle the cognitive dissonance”?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Omg wow Im sorry haha, sometimes I really can’t tell. That should’ve been an indicator for me XD Thanks for the follow by the way

        Like

      3. Lol my pleasure, keep writing and saying “fuck you” to The Man

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great piece. Ever will I be cushioned from that bullshit by white privilege.

    Like

Share your opinion! I'd like to hear what you think :)

