Just A Rant About Drifting Apart

Despite time being that which heals even some of the most painful memories, cuts and scrapes, it seems that time is also one to make even the closest of people drift apart.

When one is a child, everyone is a friend, time is irrelevant and everything lasts forever. The sad reality which I’m sure many of us have come to see is that this is simply just an idealistic notion we believe as children because most of us aren’t aware that not everything lasts and that the things that afflict us are out of our hands.

I never thought I’d have to move so often, and surely I never believe that I would lose the person I called my best friend time and time again. Alas friends become commodities that are eventually traded or abandoned, or even forgotten when something or someone  better comes along. With many of my friends moving onto the start of the rest of their lives, the best I can do is try not to feel so terrible. Try to numb myself into dettachment until the pain lessens.

The same can be said for those that are like family or are a part of family too.
Family friends once especially close have also grown up and started their own lives, and the idea of meeting up seems impossible to say the least. Cousins and aunts and uncles have moved to different cities and they too have moved on to form new bonds with new people.

I suppose the reason this bothers me so much is that I attach myself too closely to the bonds that I make. As my closest companians are ready to leave and go their own ways, I’m still stuck here until it’s my turn to leave too. I don’t have the same beginning waiting for me until I complete the same painstaking metamorphosis. The next step won’t be reached until I clean up the dusty remains left by those before me. It also pains me to think of those after me that must go through the same and continue this cycle of life.

Perhaps time will heal these bruises and cuts much like it helped to create them. Maybe the next chapter is a bright and beautiful one, and for once there might actually be someone that sticks around.

Perhaps.

4 comments

  1. I relate to this so much, it’s almost as if you infiltrated my mind. I really enjoyed this, thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I think that as we all look into the human experiences of others, we see a reflection of ourselves, and thats the most beautiful thing we can share with the world 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “I suppose the reason this bothers me so much is that I attach myself too closely to the bonds that I make.” I relate so much to this, everything you’re saying just hits me even though what I’ve experienced has been different from yours – I can easily imagine myself going through what you have. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suppose this phenomenon affects alot of people, and in the end your interpretation of my feelings always has room to reflect how you feel 🙂

      Like

Share your opinion! I'd like to hear what you think :)

