How Did You Know?

As a young person still a bit lost as to what I’m going to do and what I want to be, my question to all of those that know where they’re headed and those who are already doing what they’ve decided on; How did you know?

What led you to choose the path that you did? Why did you become whatever it is that you do for a career?

How was the journey? What were some of the obstacles you faced? Even if you decided to do something other than your passion, how do you still find time for it?

I know for sure that I want to help people in some way, shape or form, but I don’t really know how. I have some things I love to do but I don’t think I can make a living out of any of them.

So does anyone have any advice?

Note: apparently this post gets quite a few views but no responses, so if you have any advice to give please say so! Anything helps ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

  1. This is a difficult question. I have chosen a path that I believe is right, but my feelings could change any day now. I am a freshman in college and I am a Marketing Major. Many clues from my entire life have led me to reach this decision. I consider myself artistic, creative, business savvy, detail-oriented, etc. I love the idea of creating an advertisement that could be seen by a huge audience. As I take classes in college, I am more convinced that this is right for me. I consider myself one of the lucky ones. Many of my friends are still undecided and have no idea what to do with their lives. My advice to you is this: Do not be afraid. The future will work itself out! Do what feels right. If you know there are activities or whatever that you enjoy, if you know you want to help people, explore your options. What do you see yourself as (professionally, that is)? What is your dream job? Consider the pros and cons. If gut feeling isn’t convincing enough, work it out logically.
    Like you, I also wish to help people- to improve the world in some way. I combined this dream with my talent for marketing and decided I want to work for a nonprofit organization, or a company that is environmentally conscious. Once I figured out my passions, I shaped my career goals accordingly.
    For a while I thought I wanted to be a teacher. I was in love with the idea of having my own classroom to decorate and help mold the young people that I would have the opportunity to leave an impression on. One day, I just didn’t feel that way anymore. The business oriented side of me took over, and that’s when I decided on marketing. That doesn’t mean I will eliminate working with children from my list of passions, though.
    The important thing is that there is a place for everyone in this world. You’ll find yours eventually; it just requires a little searching!
    Best of Luck,
    Kath

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚ I think that maybe exploring my options would definitely help out

      Liked by 1 person

Share your opinion! I'd like to hear what you think :)