Just A Rant on How the American Justice System Failed Us Tonight

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to Justice everywhere”

-Martin Luther King Jr.

November 24, 2014

Tonight the American justice system has failed us. People of color, whites, the old, the young, man and woman, we have been betrayed. We have been ignored, our cries for dignity, justice, respect and equality downright ignored. Muted out into deafening silence….

After weeks of unrest in Ferguson, Missouri following the shooting of Michael Brown, the grand jury has decided NOT to indict officer Darren Wilson. As if the countless colored people of America had not suffered enough, our own justice system has proven to be nothing but a sham and an institution meant to protect the status quo.

What really irks me is that the attorney general read off several accounts from witnesses as well as the evidence that was provided for the grand jury to review, and in the end none of that amounted to any sort of justice. The jury spent months deliberating this, only for us to see that our prayers and protests didn’t come to fruition.

Just yesterday a 12 year old boy from Cleveland died from gunshot wounds after police shot him for carrying a pellet gun. Tamir E. Rice is just one more victim seemingly targeted for his race. Trayvon Martin, Vonderrit Meyers, Eric Garner and many others mark the countless lives lost to discrimination.

How long must this injustice and bigotry continue to rule our daily lives? As a minority I know all too well the discrimination faced by people of a skin color other than white. I can’t feel what the people of Ferguson are feeling but I am afraid for them, because surely, if the government has let these steadfast people down, what is left for the rest of us?

With every passing moment, the unrest grows and the people hold on. At the moment, as I write this, teargas is being fired at protesters, crowds are marching all across the nation, people across the globe feel for the people of America, and the wise foretell our approaching doom.

I fear that every new victim will simply be another name on a list of men and women who were in the wrong place in the wrong time, born into the “wrong race”. I fear that my younger siblings will have to endure a much worse life growing up than the life I’m living now. What will I say to my sister when she asks me why others hate us so? Why we have no rights in a nation based off of the hypocrisy running the very institution we established for security?

Dear America,

Thank you for pretending like I had the same basic rights as the middle aged white man across the street. Thank you for oppressing my brothers and sisters in favor of maintaining the imperialistic status quo in which we are slaves to our ignorance. Thank you for telling me I had basic rights because I am a second class citizen in the land of the brave and the home of the “free”. Thank you for allowing injustice to stain our history for generations to come, because the America I was told to believe in is a lie. Thank you for convincing me I have the same opportunities as the privileged children  that have access to all the rights and resources they can get their hands on.

Thank you most of all for setting the precedent and allowing officers who shoot minorities to get off free of an indictment, You have made me so proud.

 

Share your opinion! I'd like to hear what you think :)

